We to me

Toronto, ON (October 15, 2008) – Empower. Inspire. Effect change. For the second year in a row, CTV will broadcast highlights from Free The Children’s National Me to We Day, it was announced today. Premiering Saturday, October 25 at 7 p.m. ET on CTV, Me to We is a one-hour television special linking viewers across the country to the extraordinary youth event taking place this Friday in Toronto. Hosted by etalk anchors Ben Mulroney and Tanya Kim, Me to We features an impressive roster of speakers and performers – including Sarah McLachlan, award-winning actress Mia Farrow, celeb designer Nate Berkus, Canadian Idol winner Theo Tams, Crash Parallel, Liberal MP-elect Justin Trudeau, and Free The Children founders Craig and Mark Kielburger – who are joining together to celebrate the power of young people to change the lives of others.

The largest one-day event of its kind, National Me to We Day unites top social issues speakers and performers with more than 8,000 student leaders from 600 schools and 40 school boards across Canada. Students and schools nationwide can catch the five-hour event in its entirety, live and unedited, when it is streamed on www.CTV.ca/metowe from 9:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m. ET (approximately) on Friday, October 17.

Produced and recorded by CTV from Toronto’s Ricoh Coliseum, Me to We reinforces CTV’s commitment to socially relevant programming fostering change. Sol Guy, host of the CTV/MTV series 4REAL, is a featured speaker at the event. Me to We will be re-broadcast Sunday, October 26 at 12 p.m. ET on CTV, Sunday, October 26 at 7 p.m. ET on MTV and Thursday, October 30 at 9 p.m. ET on Star! (visit CTV.ca/metowe to confirm local broadcast times).

CTV is an avid supporter of this powerful and empowering event,” said Susanne Boyce, President, Creative, Content and Channels, CTV Inc. “National Me to We Day is a celebration of the positive change that Free The Children brings to the lives of children worldwide. We are proud to partner with Free The Children and to be able to share this event with a national audience, online and on TV.”

Me to We speakers and performers include:

* Craig Kielburger and Marc Kielburger, founders and directors, Free The Children
* Mia Farrow, actress and activist
* Songstress Sarah McLachlan
* Nate Berkus, celebrity designer
* Justin Trudeau, Liberal MP-elect
* The cast of Degrassi: The Next Generation
* World We Know recording artists, Crash Parallel
* 2008 Canadian Idol winner Theo Tams
* Sol Guy, host of MTV’s 4REAL
* Farley Flex, Canadian Idol Judge
* Jessi Cruickshank, MTV Host
* Hannah Endicott-Douglas, actress, Anne of Green Gables: A New Beginning

Me to We is produced by CTV. Executive Producer is Karen Barzilay.