The Hour

On Monday, Dec. 21 at 9:00 p.m. on CBC Television, THE HOUR Holiday Special features a night of holiday song performances from celebrated Canadian and international musicians including Michael Buble, Avril Lavigne, Norah Jones, Metric, The Mighty Pope, Our Lady Peace, Kathleen Edwards, The Sadies, Hamilton’s Children’s Choir and Sweet Thing.

THE HOUR also welcomes celebrity guest readers for a special rendition of The Night Before Christmas from Scott Thompson, Stephen King, Eugene Levy, Margaret Atwood, Colin Mochrie, Chris Bosh, Chantal Kreviazuk and Jully Black, among others.


Canada’s late night talk show, THE HOUR, returns for its sixth season of unconventional television this month. On Monday, Sept. 28, at 11 p.m., on CBC Television, award-winning host George Stroumboulopoulos sits down with acclaimed Canadian actor and activist Michael J. Fox for an intimate hour-long conversation. Covering his work as an actor and the launch of The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research in Canada, THE HOUR brings viewers a closer look at Fox’s early rise to fame and his more recent efforts to find a cure for Parkinson’s disease.

A hybrid of news and celebrity, guests who land in THE HOUR’s signature red leather chair meet Stroumboulopoulos’s one-of-a-kind brand of interviewing. It’s personable, it’s revealing, and there’s no other place on Canadian television to catch such captivating stories. Going beyond the headlines for unique, in-depth conversation, Stroumboulopoulos interviews some of the most fascinating personalities in the world. THE HOUR welcomes Michael Moore, Snoop Dogg, Anne Murray, Michael Buble, Edward Norton, Drew Barrymore, Clive Owen, Michael Douglas, Richard Dawkins, Andre Agassi and John Irving to the show this season.

One of Canada’s most popular television websites and YouTube Channels, THE HOUR has a busy online following with THE HOUR’s Blog, archived episodes and award-winning podcasts on iTunes. THE HOUR is taped daily in front of a live studio audience and has won six Gemini Awards and a 2009 Gracie Award for Outstanding TV Show – Public Division, by the American Women of Radio and Television.