It may take more than the luck of the Irish to win hardware when the best of the best in music duke it out in Belfast, Ireland at the 2011 MTV EUROPE MUSIC AWARDS, airing Sunday, Nov. 6 at 8 p.m. ET on MuchMusic.

Hosted by former MuchMusic Video Awards host, Selena Gomez, the EMAs are set to showcase talents from across the pond and beyond. Performers for this year’s EMAs  include Coldplay, Jessie J, Lady Gaga, Bruno Mars, LMFAO, Jason Derulo, and more. The entire show is also available online at at 8 p.m. ET.

Adding to the party are everyone’s favourite guidettes, JERSEY SHORE’s Nicole “Snooki” Polizzi and Jenni “J-Woww” Farley, “pumping” up the volume as presenters. Ashley Rickards of AWKARD joins the line-up to announce the awards to the music elite. Legendary rock group Queen is set to be honoured with the “Global Icon Award” and take to the stage for a special performance.

New to the EMAs this year is the Worldwide Act category, where fans across the globe voted for their hometown artists to represent their region at this year’s EMAs. The five nominees go head to head in one last round of voting in an effort to earn the Worldwide Act distinction. The five global finalists are pop icon Britney Spears (North America), Lena (Europe), BIGBANG (Asia Pacific), Abdelfattah Grini (Africa/India/Middle East), and Restart (Latin America).

Fans in Canada get in on all of the action by logging on to and vote for their fave artists in each category. For a full list of nominees, please click here. Voting closes Nov 4.

The MTV EMAs repeat on Monday, Nov. 7 at 10 p.m. ET on MuchMusic.



Bruno Mars


Jason Derulo

Jessie J

Lady Gaga


Red Hot Chili Peppers

Snow Patrol




Ashley Rickards

Nicole “Snooki” Polizzi

Jenni “JWOWW” Farley

MTV today announced it has recruited the multi-talented Selena Gomez to host the “2011 MTV EMA”.

With her infectious charm, striking style and upbeat energy, actress and platinum recording artist Gomez is guaranteed to help make the 18th annual MTV EMA a must-watch event.

For the first time ever, MTV will have its EMA host fully integrated into the show across multiple screens, as Gomez will be the lynchpin across all platforms for MTV’s global celebration of the year’s best in music. As host of the main show, she’ll be overseeing all the onstage antics, performances, winners and unforgettable moments of the evening.  On the digital front, Gomez will be juggling several duties to engage with EMA fans all over the world throughout the show – from checking in with the Twitterverse to sharing behind-the-scenes gossip to offering her unique commentary on

“I’m so excited to be the host of the ‘2011 MTV EMA’ – it’s a dream come true!” said Gomez. “This is such a huge event that always recognizes the biggest stars in music from across the globe, so it’s a real honor to be MC at this year’s show.”

Viewers can vote for their favourite EMA artists by visiting As previously announced, Lady Gaga leads the pack of EMA nominees with six nods, with Katy Perry and Bruno Mars following closely behind with four nominations. Adele, Justin Bieber and Thirty Seconds To Mars are each up for three awards. Other EMA nominees include Foo Fighters, Snoop Dogg, My Chemical Romance, Jennifer Lopez, LMFAO, Jessie J, Beyoncé, Coldplay, Eminem, Arcade Fire, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Far East Movement, Kanye West, Linkin Park, Wiz Khalifa and Kings of Leon.