Canadian Comedy Awards

Below is the full list of nominees in the 2012 Canadian Comedy Awards.

Voting opens on June 14th and closes on July 29th. Continue reading »

Ladies and gentlemen, your 2011 Canadian Comedy Award nominees…


Male Standup

Steve Patterson

Mark Forward

Darrin Rose

Tim Steeves

Jeremy Hotz


Female Standup

Heidi Foss

Laurie Elliott

Nikki Payne

DeAnne Smith

Debra DiGiovanni


Standup Newcomer

Rhiannon Archer

Eric Andrews

Matt Carter

Dylan Gott

D.J. Demers


Comedic Play

Something Wicked Awesome This Way Comes…

Phillips & Crown

My Mother’s Lesbian Jewish Wiccan Wedding

Dr. Whom

Pick of the Fringe!


One Person Show

Cancer Can’t Dance Like This


ONEymoon (A Honeymoon for One)

Beer League

NormVsCancer: A Terminally Funny One Man Show


Sketch Troupe

The Second City

Women Fully Clothed


Falcon Powder

Hot Thespian Action


Improv Troupe

Rapid Fire Theatre

Die-Nasty The Live Improvised Soap Opera

The Sunday Service

The National Theatre of the World’s Impromptu Splendor

Urban Improv


Male Improviser

Mark Meer

Jeff Gladstone

Taz VanRassel

Ron Pederson

Ryan Beil


Female Improviser

Ashley Botting

Inessa Frantowski

Caitlin Howden

Sarah Hillier

Mandy Sellers


TV Show

Living In Your Car

This Movie Sucks!


Call Me Fitz

Less Than Kind


Taped Live Performance

Nikki Payne – Ha!ifax Comedy Fest 2010

Chuck Byrn – Ha!ifax Comedy Fest 2010

Tim Steeves – CCA’s 10 Year Anniversary Special

Nick Beaton – Comedy Now

Ron Josol – Ethnical Difficulties


Direction – TV

Sebastian Cluer – Kenny vs Spenny Christmas Special

Henry Sarwer-Foner – Rick Mercer Report

Adam Brodie & Dave Derewlany – Scare Tactics

Brian K. Roberts – The Debaters

James Dunnison – Less Than Kind


Writing – TV Program or Series

Paul Mather – Men with Brooms, Wedding Knells

Tim Mcauliffe, Mark Critch, Cathy Jones, Gavin Crawford, Kyle Tingley, Albert Howell, Dean Jenkinson, Mike Allison, David Kerr, Bob Kerr – 22 Minutes, Episode 5

Ken Finkleman – Good Dog

Sheri Elwood – Call Me Fitz – Episode 101

Graham Clark, Gary Jones, Richard Side, John Wing, Nathan Macintosh, Dave Hemstad, Debra DiGiovanni – ‘The Debaters’


Performance by a Male – TV

Howie Miller – CAUTION: May Contain Nuts

Mark O’Brien – Republic of Doyle


Ennis Esmer – The Listener

Jason Priestley – Call Me Fitz, Episode 106


Performance by a Female – Television

Aimee Beaudoin – CAUTION: May Contain Nuts

Nancy Robertson – Hiccups

Angela Asher – 18 TO LIFE Season 2, ‘Overcooked’

Sitara Hewitt – Little Mosque on the Prairie

Brooke Palsson – Less Than Kind


Best Performance by an Ensemble – Television

Dana Andersen, Matt Alden, Aimée Beaudoin, Sheldon Elter, Jeff Halaby, James Higuchi, Howie Miller, Mark Meer, Ryan Parker – CAUTION: May Contain Nuts

Brendan Gall, Siobhan Murphy, William C. Vaughan, Anand Rajaram, Joel S. Keller, Aliyah O’Brien, Glenda Braganza, Paul Gross – Men with Brooms

James Hartnett, Hannah Hogan, Alana Johnston, Kayla Lorette, Joey Lucius, Alex Spencer, AJ Vaage – That’s So Weird

Fred Ewanuick, Mary Ashton, Paul Bates, Benjamin Ayres, David Ferry – Dan for Mayor, Episode 110

Stacey Farber, Alain Goulem, Angela Asher, Jesse Rath, Kaniehtiio Horn, Ellen David, Arielle Shiri, Peter Keleghan, Michael Seater, Erin Agostino – 18 TO LIFE Season 2 (Episode 1: ‘Family Portrait’)


Best Film


Good Neighbours



Don’t Walk Out That Door


Performance by a Male – Film

Jay Baruchel – Good Neighbours

Tim Doiron – GravyTrain

Jacob Medjuck – Summerhood

Joe Cobden – Peepers

Craig Brown – Don’t Walk Out That Door


Best Performance by a Female – Film

Sandi Ross – Medium Raw: Night of the Wolf

Angela Asher – A Touch of Grey

Maria Del Mar – A Touch of Grey

Janine Theriault – Peepers

Inessa Frantowski – Don’t Walk Out That Door


Direction – Film

Jacob Tierney – Good Neighbours

Jeremy LaLonde – The Untitled Work of Paul Shepard

Jesse Shamata – Break A Leg

Jacob Medjuck – Summerhood

Seth W. Owen – Peepers


Writing – Film

Jacob Medjuck – Summerhood

Jacob Tierney, Good Neighbours

Seth W. Owen, Mark Slutsky, Daniel Perlmutter – Peepers

Simon Fraser, Brian G. Smith – Improvisaton Nation

Tim Doiron – GravyTrain


Radio Program or Clip

The Debaters – Pete Zedlacher & Kristeen Von Hagen: Zombies vs. Vampires

The Irrelevant Show – Episode 1

Kamikaze Komedy

The Debaters – Sean Cullen & Alonzo Bodden: Summer vs Winter Olympics

This Is That


Web Clip

Fresh Talks I Luv All The Special Girl

I Am The Man

Phone Call to an Ex-girlfriend


That Thing That Happened