Canada’s Walk of Fame Awards

Sunday, October 14 – 8pm ET/PT *A Special Global Presentation* on Global

A previous inductee himself, Paul Shaffer hosts the 2012 Canada’s Walk of Fame Awards. The event celebrates Canadians who have excelled in music, sport, film, television, as well as the literary, visual, performing arts, science and innovation. This year’s inductees include Randy Bachman, Phil Hartman, Russ Jackson, Sarah McLachlan, Sonia Rodriguez and Team Canada 1972.

Sunday, October 23 – 8pm ET/PT on Global

*A Special Two-Hour Event*

Howie Mandel returns as host of the 2011 Canada’s Walk of Fame Awards that includes a rare performance by Justin Bieber. This year’s inductees include musician Burton Cummings, actress Sandra Oh, comedian Russell Peters, and novelist/screenwriter Mordecai Richler. Plus, rap/ R&B sensation Drake takes home this year’s Allan Slaight Award.

Shaw Media and Canada’s Walk of Fame are proud to announce the return of Howie Mandel as Host of the 14th annual celebration of Canadian achievements.

The internationally renowned comedian and 2009 inductee leads the 2011 Awards ceremony that introduces and honours this year’s roster of inductees from Toronto’s historic Elgin Theatre on Saturday, October 1st.

Airing Sunday, October 23rd – 8pm ET/PT on Global and SliceTM, the annual star-studded gala event will feature top tier talents being honoured by their colleagues with inspirational performances and heartfelt words. A list of presenters and performers featured in the show to be announced in the coming weeks.

“A continuing advocate of the Canadian star system, Howie’s involvement in the Walk of Fame Awards is just one of the ways he celebrates being from this great country,” said Barbara Williams, SVP, Content, Shaw Media. “That makes him the perfect host for a ceremony that allows the country to discover and celebrate the accomplishments of Canadians from all walks of life.”

A constant force in show business for over 30 years, Howie’s versatile career has encompassed virtually all aspects of the entertainment spectrum, including television, film and stage. He is best known for his work on the Emmy®-Award winning “St. Elsewhere,” his international animated children’s series “Bobby’s World,” the host of “Deal or No Deal,” both in the U.S. and in Canada, and most recently a judge for “America’s Got Talent” along with Sharon Osbourne and Piers Morgan.

“Howie has been a close friend and supporter of Canada’s Walk of Fame for many years and we’re very happy he’s accepted our offer to host once again this year,” said Peter Soumalias, CEO and Founding Director, Canada’s Walk of Fame. “There’s just something about Howie that makes him the perfect ambassador to welcome our inductees. Over the past few years as he’s hosted these awards, I’ve noticed his genuine enthusiasm and respect in regard to all the inductees on that stage. He shares their spotlight and simply radiates the pride we all share in the achievements of these great Canadians.”

The two-hour 2011 Canada’s Walk of Fame Awards honours a selection of internationally recognized Canadian luminaries for their lifetime achievements in the fields of music, sport, film and television, as well as the literary, visual and performing arts, science and innovation. The outstanding roster of 2011 inductees include physician and astronaut Dr. Roberta Bondar, musician Burton Cummings, athlete Daniel Nestor, actress Sandra Oh, comedian Russell Peters, and novelist/screenwriter Mordecai Richler. Plus, R&B sensation Drake will take home this year’s Allan Slaight Award.

Previously announced superstar, Ryan Reynolds is unable to attend this year’s ceremony and will be inducted at a later date.