Homeland and Modern Family lead Emmy winners

Homeland and Modern Family were the big winners at the 64th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards on Sunday evening.

Damian Lewis and Claire Danes both took home the prizes for lead actor and actress in a drama series while Homeland claimed the top drama prize, beating the likes of Mad Men and Downton Abbey.

Co-creators Alex Gansa and Howard Gordon also claimed the Emmy for outstanding writing.

In the comedy category, Modern Family reigned supreme. The ABC series picked up its third consecutive Emmy for outstanding comedy series while Eric Stonestreet and Julie Bowen won prizes for supporting actor/actress in a comedy series.

Co-creator and executive producer Steve Levitan won an Emmy for directing also.

Jon Cryer from Two and a Half Men claimed his second Emmy of his career, picking up the award for lead actor in a comedy series while Julia Louis-Dreyfus picked up the lead actress award for her role in the new HBO series Veep.

Breaking Bad’s Aaron Paul picked up a deserved award for his role as Jessie Pinkman, winning his second drama supporting actor award.

Dame Maggie Smith claimed the supporting actress role for her portrayal of Downton Abbey’s dowager countess.

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart won its tenth consecutive Emmy for outstanding variety show while The Amazing Race won another reality competition series Emmy.

Dancing with the Stars host Tom Bergeron claimed the award for best reality host thanks to the fact that Survivor’s Jeff Probst wasn’t nominated.

Source: Hollywood Reporter

About the author