OMNI has exclusive Canadian broadcast of 2012 IIFA Events

One of the brightest nights in Bollywood hits the small screen onSunday, July 8 and OMNI Television is the only place in Canada to watch the spectacular events unfold.

Fans will enjoysix-and-a-half consecutive hours of exclusive International Indian Film Awards (IIFA) 2012 programming, featuring all the highlights from its most popular and beloved events.

Beginning at5 p.m.ET/PT on OMNI .2, OMNI Alberta and OMNI BC,South Asian fashion and music come to life with the always colourful and luxurious fashion show,IIFA Rocks 2012.

Immediately following at7 p.m. ET/PT,thebest and brightest Bollywood stars light up the screenat theIIFA Green Carpet Special 2012,leading into the main event –the 2012 IIFA Awards Ceremony at 8 p.m.ET/PT.

Presenting viewers with the finest in South Asian fashion and music, IIFA Rocks 2012 turns up the excitement with an exhilarating two-hour runway show featuring looks from top South Asian designers Varun Bahl, Suneet Varma, and Masaba. Modelling these buzzed-about fashion lines is a long list of Bollywood stars, including Nargis Fakhri (Rockstar), Aditi Rao Hydari (London Paris New York), and Bipasha Basu (Jodi Breakers). Adding flair and energy to the show are hot South Asian musical artists Blush,Mika Singh, and Neha Dhupia, who hit the stage with sizzling performances.

Then, bringing viewers closer than ever to their favourite Bollywood stars and artists, theIIFA Green Carpet Special 2012 features exclusive interviews with some of South Asian cinema’s biggest names. In addition to providing an up-close-and-personal look at the gorgeous gowns and unique ensembles on the carpet, the one-hour special will also give viewers unparalleled access to the behind-the-scenes action leading up to the marquee event.

Celebrating the magic of South Asian cinema by honouring the best in the business,the 2012 IIFA Awards Ceremony brings together Bollywood’s most beloved stars for this eagerly-awaited annual event. Hosted by actors, Shahid Kapoor (Teri Meri Kahaani) and Farhan Akthar (Zindagi Na Milegi), the three-and-a-half hour ceremony features awards for Best Picture, Best Story, Best Performance in a Leading Role Male and Female, and Best Direction. Notable nominees celebrated at the awards include Ranbir Kapoor (Rockstar), Riteish Deshmukh (Double Dhamaal), and Prakash Raj (Singham). Plus, musical performances adding flavour to the event include Prabhu Deva, Sonakshi Sinha, and father-son duo, Rishi and Ranbir Kapoor.

About the author