Julia Louis-Dreyfus stars in the HBO’s new comedy series Veep, April 22 on HBO Canada

HBO Canada, a multiplex channel of Corus Entertainment’s Movie Central (Western Canada) and Astral’s The Movie Network (Eastern Canada), presents Veep, a new half-hour comedy starring Julia Louis-Dreyfus as former senator Selina Meyer, a rising star in her party and charismatic leader who seemed to have unlimited potential, until she became vice president.  

Meyer soon discovers the job is nothing like she expected, but everything she was warned about. Veep premieres Sunday, April 22 at 10 p.m. ET/MT on HBO Canada, day-and-date with the U.S.

The eight-episode season of Veep follows the whirlwind day-to-day existence of Vice President Meyer as she puts out political fires, juggles a busy public schedule and demanding private life, and defends the president’s interests, even as she tries to improve her dysfunctional relationship with the chief executive.

The ensemble cast of the show also includes Tony Hale (Arrested Development) as Gary, her right-hand man; Anna Chlumsky (In the Loop) as Amy, her chief of staff; Matt Walsh (HBOʼs Hung) as Mike, Vice President Meyerʼs weathered spokesperson; Reid Scott (My Boys) as Dan, an ambitious political aide; Timothy C. Simons (Days Together) as Jonah, a young and somewhat clueless White House liaison; and Sufe Bradshaw (Overnight) as Sue, Vice President Meyerʼs executive assistant.

In addition to Armando Iannucci, directors include Chris Morris and Tristram Shapeero; other writers besides Armando Iannucci include Simon Blackwell, Tony Roche, Sean Gray, William Smith, Roger Drew and Ian Martin.

Armando Iannucci co-wrote and directed the pilot of the series, which he executive produces along with Frank Rich of New York Magazine and Christopher Godsick (Take the Lead). Simon Blackwell, who co-wrote the pilot, co-executive produces along with Tony Roche; Julia Louis-Dreyfus and Stephanie Laing produce; consulting producers include Sean Gray, William Smith, Roger Drew and Ian Martin.

About the author