Global and APTN to air 19th Annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards

Infused with inspiring recipients and mesmerizing performances, the 19th Annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards returns Friday, April 13th at 7:30pm ET/PT on Global and APTN.

Recognizing the highest levels of achievement of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis people, the Awards were held earlier this month in Vancouver, British Columbia and were co-hosted by NHL All-Star Theo Fleury and Vancouver-born actress Carmen Moore (“Arctic Air”).

“The Awards are rich with history, culture and breathtaking entertainment, and we are honoured to be a part of this annual celebration,” said Barbara Williams, SVP, Content, Shaw Media. “Now in our seventh consecutive year as the official broadcaster alongside APTN, we have seen this show grow in popularity and have marveled at the accomplishments of each year’s recipients.”

The annual black-tie awards gala attracts the very best Canadian Indigenous entertainers and kicks off with a stunning classical piece mixed with Indigenous and western influences by West Coast conductor and composer Dustin Peters, baritone Carey Newman and mezzo-soprano Marion Newman with dancers Jera Wolfe and Sarain Fox.

Additional performances will include internationally-acclaimed Métis singer, songwriter and pianist, Chantal Kreviazuk; award-winning singer and 2010 Vancouver Olympics Closing Ceremony performer Derek Miller; and a special presentation by Robbie Robertson – multi GRAMMY® winner and international music icon from Six Nations of the Grand River.

“APTN is very proud to broadcast the awards and highlight the incredible achievements of these 15 First Nations, Inuit and Métis role models,” says Jean LaRose, CEO of APTN. “Their dedication to creating positive change not only within our communities but for the benefit of all Canadians is an inspiration and APTN is pleased to be a part of sharing their stories with all Canadians.”

Established in 1993, the awards celebrate career achievements by professionals in diverse occupations. This year, a national jury selected 12 career award winners along with two youth and one lifetime achievement award recipient. Categories of recognition include arts; business and commerce; culture, heritage and spirituality; education; environment and natural resources; health; law and justice; media and communications; politics; public service; as well as sports.

“This Gemini award-winning show honours the Indigenous community, inspiring all of us to achieve our potential,” said Roberta Jamieson, President and CEO of Indspire and Executive Producer, National Aboriginal Achievement Awards. “We are proud to work so closely with Shaw Media and APTN to share these indspiring Indigenous role models with all Canadians.”

For a complete list of award winners, performers and presenters please visit

About the author