Homeland, Breaking Bad, Modern Family big winners at Writers Guild of America Awards

Homeland, Breaking Bad and Modern Family have taken out the major honours at this week’s Writers Guild of America Awards.

The Clare Danes and Damian Lewis-starring Homeland picked up the ‘New Series’ prize ahead of the likes of Game of Thrones and New Girl.

The drama also shared the ‘Episodic Drama’ prize with Breaking Bad, which won the ‘Drama Series’ prize.

The ‘Comedy Series’ prize went to Modern Family as did the ‘Episodic Comedy’ award.


Full list of winners:

Drama Series

Boardwalk Empire (HBO)

Breaking Bad (AMC) – WINNER!

Game of Thrones (HBO)

The Good Wife (CBS)

Homeland (Showtime)


Comedy Series

30 Rock (NBC)

Curb Your Enthusiasm (HBO)

Louie (FX)

Modern Family (ABC) – WINNER!

Parks and Recreation (NBC)


New Series

Episodes (Showtime)

Game of Thrones (HBO)

Homeland (Showtime) – WINNER!

The Killing (AMC)

New Girl (Fox)


Episodic Drama

Boardwalk Empire – “A Dangerous Maid” (HBO)

Boardwalk Empire – “The Age of Reason” (HBO)

Breaking Bad – “Box Cutter” (AMC) – WINNER!

Breaking Bad – “End Times” (AMC)

Homeland – “The Good Soldier” (Showtime) – WINNER!

Dexter – “Just Let Go” (Showtime)


Episodic Comedy 

Modern Family – “Caught in the Act” (ABC) – WINNER!

The Office – “Goodbye Michael, Part 2” (NBC)

Modern Family – “Mother’s Day” (ABC)

Weeds – “Object Impermanence” (Showtime)

The Office – “PDA” (NBC)

30 Rock – “Queen of Jordan” (NBC)


Long Form – Original

Cinema Verite (HBO) – WINNER!

Five (Lifetime)


Long Form – Adapted

Mildred Pierce (HBO)

Too Big to Fail (HBO) – WINNER!



The Simpsons – “Bart Stops to Smell the Roosevelts” (FOX)

The Simpsons – “The Blue and the Gray” (FOX)

The Simpsons – “Donnie Fatso” (FOX)

The Simpsons – “Homer the Father” (FOX) – WINNER!

Ben 10: Ultimate Alien – “Moonstruck” (Cartoon Network)

Futurama – “The Silence of the Clamps” (Comedy Central)


Comedy / Variety Series (Including Talk) 

Conan (TBS)

Jon Benjamin Has a Van (Comedy Central)

Late Night with Jimmy Fallon (NBC)

Real Time with Bill Maher (HBO)

Saturday Night Live (NBC)

The Colbert Report (Comedy Central) – WINNER!

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart (Comedy Central)


Comedy / Variety – Music, Awards, Tributes – Specials

After the Academy Awards (ABC) – WINNER!

The Kennedy Centre Honors (CBS)


Daytime Drama

All My Children (ABC)

General Hospital (ABC) – WINNER!

The Young and the Restless (CBS)


Children’s – Episodic & Specials

Sesame Street – “The Good Birds Club” (PBS)

Supah Ninjas – “Hero of the Shadows” (Nickelodeon) – WINNER!

iCarly – “Lost My Mind” (Nickelodeon)

Zeke and Luther – “Luther Turns 4” (Disney XD)

The Troop – “Oh, Brother” (Nickelodeon)

Imagination Movers – “The Prince Frog” (Disney Channel)


Source: Digital Spy

About the author