Human Planet is a breathtaking celebration of people, Dec. 25 on Discovery World HD

From the makers of PLANET EARTH and LIFE, comes an all-new series that looks at the most astounding and adaptable species of all: humans.

Spend Christmas day with Discovery World HD from 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT to Midnight ET/11 p.m. PT for a six-hour marathon of HUMAN PLANET. From oceans and jungles, to deserts and mountains, this awe-inspiring six-part BBC series is the perfect opportunity to try out those freshly unwrapped HD televisions.

This majestic portrait of people’s incredible ability to survive and thrive in the planet’s most extreme environments is the most breathtaking gift of this holiday season.

Four years in the making, HUMAN PLANET tells the story of the complex, profound and sometimes challenging relationship between humankind and nature. The series was filmed in high definition in more than 70 locations to capture the most diverse – and in some cases never-before-seen – stories of human endeavor. From the frozen Arctic to steamy rainforests, and from tiny islands in vast oceans to parched deserts, people have found remarkable ways to adapt and survive in the harshest environments possible. 

Each hour of HUMAN PLANET is tied to life in a particular habitat, exploring remote valleys, treacherous cliffs, flooding monsoon rains and even the urban jungle.

Wade in “Rivers and Oceans” (6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT), to learn of humans’ ability to adapt to an aquatic life, reaping the bounties as well as heeding the treacherous and often unpredictable waters.

Trek through the “Mountains” (7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT), where survival on these peaks tests human ingenuity, and people have devised modes of transportation across the most inaccessible terrain and learned how to “read” avalanches.

Feel the chill of the “Arctic” (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT), where at 40 degrees below zero, four million people have devised ways to survive these seemingly inhospitable conditions, using nature to their own advantage.

Hike through “Grasslands and Jungles” (9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT), where calling the grasslands home means sharing the terrain with some of the greatest land predators in a wildlife battleground.

Sweat the heat in “Deserts” (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT), where a few days without water can be fatal, but humans are surviving by learning how to use nature to find water – including following the pattern of the stars and the shapes of sand dunes.

Finally, follow “Life at the Extremes” (11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT), from the remote mountains of Mongolia, where the Kazakh people teach golden eagles to do their hunting for them; to southern Kenya, where the Dorobo hunters use teamwork and intimidation to regularly steal meat from under the noses of wild lions.

About the author