Special performances boost celebrity wattage at 2011 Canada’s Walk of Fame Awards

Marking its 14th year of celebrating the incredible achievements of Canadians from all walks of life, there’s certainly no shortage of talent to help shine the spotlight on the 2011 Canada’s Walk of Fame inductees. A star-studded lineup of performers will take to the stage during the Awards broadcast this Sunday, October 23 – 8pm ET/PT on Global.

International pop sensation Justin Bieber’s special tribute to Allan Slaight Award recipient Drake is just one of the standout performances of this year’s Canada’s Walk of Fame Awards. Kicking off the broadcast is two-time JUNO Award-winner Chantal Kreviazuk lending her powerful vocals to “I’m Here (A Song for Canada)” in a moving, first-time performance of the anthemic composition (clip available at the following link: http://bit.ly/nmthgu). 

“Canada’s Walk of Fame instills a great deal of pride for us as a nation – this is a celebration like no other,” said Barbara Williams, SVP, Content, Shaw Media. “In addition to honouring our fellow Canadians, the incredible range of dynamic performers will be a real highlight for our viewers.”

From exclusive red carpet moments to Russell Peters’ hilarious acceptance speech and Dr. Roberta Bondar’s moving words of thanks, Canadians will be inspired as well as entertained by the Awards. Hosted again this year by comedic icon, Howie Mandel, the broadcast is chock-full of hilarious bits, including Howie’s signature improvisational and interactive skits.

The 2011 Canada’s Walk of Fame Awards will feature performances by:

•           Justin Bieber

•           Chantal Kreviazuk

•           Calum Graham (winner of A Song for Canada competition)

•           Stephan Moccio

•           Raine Maida

•           Eric McCormack

The two-hour Canada’s Walk of Fame Awards broadcast airs this Sunday, October 23rd – 8pm ET/PT on Global and honours a selection of internationally recognized Canadians for their lifetime achievements in the fields of music, sport, film and television, as well as the literary, visual and performing arts, science and innovation.

The outstanding roster of 2011 inductees includes physician and astronaut Dr. Roberta Bondar, musician Burton Cummings, athlete Daniel Nestor, actress Sandra Oh, comedian Russell Peters, and novelist  and screenwriter Mordecai Richler. Plus, R&B sensation Drake will take home this year’s Allan Slaight Award.

About the author