Regina, Saskatchewan, to host 2013 Juno Awards

The JUNO Awards “road trip” is heading to Canada’s Queen City for the first time as The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) and broadcast partner CTV, announced today that Regina, SK, will host THE 2013 JUNO AWARDS and JUNO Week celebrations, April 15-21, 2013. The 42nd annual JUNO AWARDS will broadcast live on CTV from the Brandt Centre on Sunday, April 21. 

JUNO Week 2013 will touch down on the province through the combined efforts of the Government of Saskatchewan, the City of Regina, the Potash Corporation of Saskatchewan, the Regina Hotel Association and the City of Moose Jaw, in partnership with SaskMusic and the Regina Regional Opportunities Commission (RROC). 

The announcement was made today at a Regina media conference by Melanie Berry, President & CEO, CARAS/The JUNO Awards, The Honourable Bill Hutchinson, Minister of Tourism, Parks, Culture and Sport, Mike MacNaughton, 2013 Regina Host Committee Chair and Garth Moore, President of PCS Potash – Potash Corporation. The JUNO Awards return to the Province of Saskatchewan after the huge success of THE 2007 JUNO AWARDS in Saskatoon, hosted by Nelly Furtado.

“The timing is perfect for Canada’s Music Awards to spotlight the rich and diverse heritage of Regina’s music scene, known for its exciting festivals and unique musical blends,” said Melanie Berry, President & CEO, CARAS/The JUNO Awards. “The city of infinite horizons certainly holds infinite possibilities for an unforgettable JUNO Awards celebration. We can’t wait to see what’s in store for 2013.”

“We’re excited to bring the JUNOS road show back to the Prairies in 2013,” said Phil King, President, CTV Programming and Sports. “We know that Saskatchewan residents are enthusiastic music fans, and we know that energy will translate to viewers across the country.”

“Regina and Moose Jaw are excited and ready to welcome the JUNO Awards back to Saskatchewan,” said Host Committee Chairman Michael MacNaughton. “Everyone across Canada is invited to come and experience our province, our culture, and have a great time at the 2013 JUNO Awards! We hope to see you here.”

Canada’s Queen City, Regina, is the provincial capital of Saskatchewan with an urban forest of more than 350,000 hand-planted trees, major attractions, home of the RCMP 

and the Roughriders and a rich, colourful heritage. In 2004, Heritage Canada designated Regina as Canada’s Cultural Capital, home to a 100-year-old symphony orchestra, exhilarating events and festivals, museums, galleries and science centres.

The JUNO Awards history dates back to 1970 when the inaugural Gold Leaf Awards were held in Toronto as an industry awards event. In 1971, it became recognized as the JUNO Awards in honour of Pierre Juneau, the first chairman of the Canadian Radio-Television Commission (CRTC). Today, the JUNO Awards have evolved from a one-day awards event to a weeklong celebration featuring events that attract thousands of music fans from across the country and abroad. 

Since CTV first partnered with CARAS in 2002, the JUNO Awards have travelled city to city across Canada starting in St. John’s, and followed by Ottawa (2003), Edmonton (2004), Winnipeg (2005), Halifax (2006), Saskatoon (2007), Calgary (2008), Vancouver (2009), St. John’s (2010), Toronto (2011) and next year in Ottawa (2012).

About the author