CTV News and /A\ News honoured internationally by the 2011 Edward R. Murrow Awards

The Radio-Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) announced today the regional winners of the 2011 Edward R. Murrow Awards.

Bell Media stations captured a total of 11 awards in both the large and small markets, nearly half of all awards distributed in the international category.

In fact, CTV had the most awards of any Canadian broadcaster with seven nods and /A\ had the second most with four. CTV British Columbia landed four awards including Overall Excellence and Best Web Site. 

The following is a list of Bell Media’s RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Award wins. Click on the hyperlink to view the winning entry:

Television, Large Market 

CTV British Columbia – Overall Excellence

CTV British Columbia – Video Investigative Reporting, High Stakes 

CTV British Columbia – Video News Series, The Cure 

CTV British Columbia – Web site ctvbc.ca

CTV Calgary – Video Reporting: Hard News, Demco 


Television, Small Market

CTV Southwestern Ontario – Video Reporting: Hard News, University Plaza Fire

CTV Southwestern Ontario – Video News Series, Fined Dining

/A\ Windsor – Video Investigative Reporting, Mistaken Mastectomy

/A\ Barrie – Video Newscast, /A\ News at 6 

/A\ Vancouver Island – Video Breaking News Coverage, Migrant Ship Approaches 

/A\ Vancouver Island – Video Sports Reporting, Ryder Hesjedal Rides Back Home 


RTDNA is the world’s largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. RTDNA represents local and network news professionals in broadcasting, cable and other digital media in more than 30 countries.

About the author