CTV announces iconic Canadian musicians to present on the 2011 Juno Awards broadcast, March 27

CTV and The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) announced today the first group of presenters set to make an appearance on its broadcast of THE 2011 JUNO AWARDS.

Appearing on the special two-and-a half-hour 10th anniversary broadcast and helping to celebrate the 40th Anniversary of the JUNO Awards are iconic Canadian musicians Bryan Adams, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Daniel Lanois, Robbie Robertson, and Rush’s Alex Lifeson and Geddy Lee.

They will be joined by Lady Antebellum’s Charles Kelley, deadmau5, the Honourable James Moore, K’Naan, Shad, Tokyo Police Club and the hosts of CTV’s first JUNO broadcast in 2002, Barenaked Ladies. More exciting performer and presenter announcements are still to be announced.

THE 2011 JUNO AWARDS, hosted by Drake, airs from Toronto’s Air Canada Centre Sunday, March 27 at 8 p.m. (9 p.m. AT) on CTV across Canada.


Among those presenting at THE 2011 JUNO AWARDS:


Pop rockers, Barenaked Ladies

Musician, photographer and social activist, Bryan Adams

Aboriginal singer-songwriter, Buffy Sainte-Marie

Musician (Black Dub), songwriter and producer, Daniel Lanois

Music phenomenon and electronic artist, deadmau5

Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, The Honourable James Moore

Global phenomenon, K’Naan

Charles Kelley, from the multiple Grammy® Award-winning country trio, Lady Antebellum

Recording artist and founding member of The Band, Robbie Robertson

Rock legends and members of Rush, Alex Lifeson and Geddy Lee

Hip hop artist, Shad

Indie rock band,Tokyo Police Club


As previously announced, the Canadian artists set to perform throughout the star-studded broadcast on CTV include: Arcade Fire, Broken Social Scene, Chromeo, Down With Webster, Hedley, Johnny Reid and Sarah McLachlan. Additional presenter and performer announcements will be released in the coming weeks.

Before the hardware is handed out, CTV properties showcase the arrival of Canada’s musical royalty on what promises to be the most star-studded red carpet yet. Also celebrating its 10th anniversary broadcast, CTV’s red carpet production ETALK AT THE JUNOS has evolved into Canada’s biggest and most anticipated red carpet event. Hosted by ETALK anchors Ben Mulroney and Tanya Kim, with ETALK reporter Lainey Lui and MTV NEWS Host Aliya-Jasmine Sovani, the red carpet arrivals show airs this year on CTV, E!, CP24 and CTV.ca (visit junos.ctv.ca to confirm local broadcast times). Additionally, MuchMusic host Lauren Toyota, along with co-hosts Damian Abraham, Phoebe Dykstra and Tyrone Edwards, check-in live on MUCH ON THE CARPET, airing at 7 p.m. ET on Much.

Tickets for THE 2011 JUNO AWARDS broadcast are still available and can be purchases through Ticketmaster www.ticketmaster.ca or by phone at 1.855.985.5000.

About the author