Food Network Canada's holiday schedule kicks off December 4

This holiday season, let Food Network Canada take the reins on all your entertaining preparations.  

Loaded with scrumptious, time-saving feast ideas, nail-biting competition, and recipes you’ll be earmarking for years to come, Food Network’s lineup of holiday programming is sure to keep you in the festive spirit all season long.  Holiday themed programming begins December 4.

World renowned celebrity chef Jamie Oliver’s family members join him in the kitchen on Jamie’s Family Christmas as he reveals his secret tips and tricks for preparing the ultimate holiday feast.  

To further whet your appetite for that big feast, The Best Thing I Ever Ate Holiday Special follows eight of your favourite Food Network hosts as they describe what’s on their holiday plates when they’re not behind the stove.  

If it’s high stakes competition you crave, tune in to the new Chopped Holiday Special, Ace of Cakes: Holidays on Icing and Food Network Challenge: Holiday Windows, then watch Chef Mike Lata and Iron Chef Jose Garces battle it out on Iron Chef America: Holiday Battle.  

 

Food Network holiday specials include:

 

Jamie’s Family Christmas (North American Broadcast Premiere) 

Premieres Sat. Dec. 4 at 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT 

(Encore presentation Sat. Dec. 4 at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT)

In this brand new series of five half-hour episodes, world renowned celebrity chef Jamie Oliver offers simple ways to perfect and upgrade the main elements of Christmas dinner, tips on what to prepare in advance, and how to turn leftovers into delicious meals.  Viewers will also see Jamie’s family members get chopping and peeling in the kitchen, telling stories about Oliver family Christmases.

 

Chopped Holiday Special (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)

Wed. Dec. 8 at 10 p.m. ET/11 p.m. PT 

(Encore presentation  Sat. Dec. 11 at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT)

In honour of the holidays, the chefs are asked to keep with a seasonal theme.  But gauging from the first basket, the competitors quickly learn they will need to veer from tradition.  Gingerbread oysters, anyone?  

 

Ace of Cakes: Holidays on Icing (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)

Thu. Dec. 9 at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT 

(Encore presentation Sun. Dec. 12 at 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT)

Charm City Cakes gets in the holiday spirit by decking the halls, sipping the eggnog and hitting the golf course… literally. The bakery staff chops a tree, decorates ornaments and sneaks around town playing Secret Santa. But evil Christmas elves cause some damage when Katherine’s snowflake wedding cake takes a hit. Can some Duff fireworks at the Dizz bring back the holiday cheer?

 

The Best Thing I Ever Ate Holiday Special (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)

Sat. Dec. 11 at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT 

(Encore presentation Mon. Dec. 13 at 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT)

Your favourite Food Network stars share in tantalizing detail the best dishes they’ve ever eaten during the holidays.

 

Food Network Challenge: Holiday Windows (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)

Sun. Dec. 12 at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT 

(Encore presentation Sun. Dec. 19 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. ET)

In this challenge three teams of pastry chefs have to transform boring storefront windows into edible holiday wonderlands. There’s a $10,000 present for the team that can create, transport and install the best holiday window display.

 

Iron Chef America: Holiday Battle (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)

Wed. Dec. 15 at 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT 

(Encore presentation Sun. Dec. 19 at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT)

The Chairman celebrates the holiday season with a festive battle. Charleston, S.C. chef Mike Lata of FIG (Food is Good) enters Kitchen Stadium to take on Iron Chef Jose Garces. Will Chef Lata’s food be impressive enough to topple the towering Iron Chef Garces?

About the author