CTV announces presenters for the 2010 Scotiabank Giller Prize, Nov. 9

CTV announced today its roster of presenters and additional broadcast details for tomorrow’s 2010 Scotiabank GILLER PRIZE, airing live on Tuesday, Nov. 9 at 9 p.m. ET on Bravo!, BookTelevision and CTV.ca.

Legendary singer Anne Murray; Blue Rodeo’s Jim Cuddy; Maclean’s columnist and award-winning author, Barbara Amiel Black; 2009 Scotiabank Giller Prize recipient Linden MacIntyre (The Bishop’s Man); and multiple award-winning CTV News anchor Lisa LaFlamme have all been confirmed to attend and present at this year’s award ceremony, hosted by CTV’s Seamus O’Regan.

Encore presentations of the 2010 Scotiabank GILLER PRIZE also air in HD on CTV on Wednesday, Nov. 10 at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. ET and throughout the week on CTV, /A\, Bravo!, BookTelevision and Star!

Renowned filmmaker Bruce MacDonald (Roadkill, Hard Core Logo) has also signed on to produce and direct the broadcast’s opening short film, a special tribute to the Giller Prize. Voicing the ceremony’s unique author profiles is five-time Gemini award-winning actor Gordon Pinsent, who will also be in attendance.

During the broadcast, the celebrity presenters introduce video profiles of the shortlisted authors and present each author with a leather-bound copy of their nominated book. As well, the broadcast includes an “Exquisite Corpse” video exercise, in which the five shortlisted authors contribute to an original “short story”, line by line. Also, highlights from CTV’s inaugural One Country 5 Books literacy campaign will be revealed.

About the author