Bravo! kicks off the holiday season with Sing Along Messiah, Dec. 6

This holiday season, Bravo! treats viewers to the broadcast premiere of Tafelmusik’s 23-year old festive tradition when SING ALONG MESSIAH airs on Monday, December 6 at 9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT.

In this two-hour special, Tafelmusik, Canada’s award-winning period instrument orchestra performs their annual rendition of Maestro Handel’s Messiah with a chorus of thousands at Toronto’s Massey Hall – and now in homes across the country.

In his hilarious television debut, Ivars Taurins (founding director of the Tafelmusik Chamber Choir) takes the stage as Handel, leading an audience of more than two thousand Messiah fanatics in a sing-along rendition of his famous baroque masterpiece.

The broadcast premiere of this annual Toronto tradition provides lyrics on-screen, so families at home can warm up their vocal cords and join in the revelry of this magical evening.

Complete with an 18th century wig, powdered face, and humourously staged accent, Taurins takes the audience on a musical journey through time. A shining cast of soloists join in the fun, including: soprano Suzie LeBlanc, countertenor Daniel Taylor, tenor Rufus Müller, and baritone Locky Chung, capturing the spirit of the season and linking viewers across the country in a united song.

Packed with seasonal merriment, Bravo! catches all of the backstage action, complete with candid interviews and hilarious high notes, as Handel journeys from his makeup room to his illustrious rendition of ‘Hallelujah’. Bravo! invites viewers to become part of Handel’s choir, follow the lyrics and join in as thousands of people make music together this holiday season.

SING ALONG MESSIAH repeats Saturday, December 18 at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT, Wednesday, December 22 at 9 p.m. ET/ 6 p.m. PT. and Saturday, December 25 at 8 a.m. ET/5 a.m. PT.

About the author