Murder She Solved: True Crime premiering on VIVA in September

Murder She Solved: True Crime, a new eight-episode, one hour documentary series for VIVA, tells the true stories of female crime solvers who, against all odds, have solved some of the most daunting murder cases in Canada.

Combining elements of mystery and intrigue, the series’ unique visual style and riveting storytelling compels viewers to connect the dots as crime-solvers unravel the clues in their journey to solve the crime.

Produced by the Vancouver-based, award-winning production company, Force Four Entertainment in association with Mystique Films, and developed and produced in collaboration with Corus Entertainment’s VIVA, Murder She Solved: True Crime premieres on Saturday, September 11 at 10 p.m. ET (7 p.m. PT) on VIVA with repeats on Sundays at Midnight ET (9 p.m. PT), and Mondays at 6 p.m. ET (3 p.m. PT) and 11 p.m. ET (8 p.m. PT).  Please check local TV listings.

“This is the first factual crime series for us, and we are thrilled to be collaborating with VIVA,” says John Ritchie, Executive Producer, Force Four Entertainment.  “Whether it’s the in-depth news of Dateline or the fictional drama of CSI, crime stories have always been an audience favourite.  Murder She Solved: True Crime offers all the excitement of headline news with thorough investigative reporting, but from a Canadian perspective. It will appeal to a broad audience and make great destination TV viewing.”

At the heart of each one-hour episode is a high-profile Canadian murder full of twists, turns, dead ends and high-speed car chases, and a female investigator whose role is pivotal in solving the case. Viewers witness the challenges, set backs and dramatic revelations these crime sleuths, and their teams, confront while piecing together complex homicide investigations.

“From Vancouver, Calgary, Ottawa, Hamilton, St. Catharines, to Toronto, there’s a never-ending number of headline-making crime stories,” says Dana Johl, Series Producer.  “But, what makes Murder She Solved: True Crime more unique from other crime series is that the untold stories behind some of Canada’s most notorious killers are revealed by some of our country’s top female criminal investigators.”

The events of each case are told through in-depth interviews with the key female investigator along with other central members of the investigative team, the prosecution, and the victim’s family or friends.  With incredible access to police files, the series makes use of archival news footage, police interrogation video, 911 calls, real crime scene photos, and impressionistic visuals of the actual crime locations to create tension and suspense while taking viewers back through the moments of the case.

Working closely with police across the nation, Murder She Solved: True Crime is a compelling documentary series that brings a voice to innocent victims and pays homage to the impressive work of law enforcement in bringing their killers to justice.

(From a press release)

About the author