Junos kick ash with 1.6 million viewers on CTV

Bieber mania and Drake desire drove younger viewers to THE 2010 JUNO AWARDS broadcast last night, as CTV saw the A18-34 audience soar 63% compared to last year.

On a competitive night of television, the audience for THE 2010 JUNO AWARDS was 1.6 million viewers, up 31% overall compared to 2009 (1.23 million) and the most-watched JUNO AWARDS on CTV since Shania Twain hosted from Ottawa in 2003. A detailed audience analysis based on preliminary overnight data from BBM Canada indicates that:

– THE 2010 JUNO AWARDS was the #1 program of the day with all three key adult demos (A18-34, A18-49 and A25-54), attracting more viewers than STANLEY CUP PLAYOFFS 2010 (CBC), CELEBRITY APPRENTICE (Global/NBC), and THE 45th ANNUAL ACADEMY OF COUNTRY MUSIC AWARDS (Citytv/CBS).

– The audience peaked at 2.1 million viewers during a surprise appearance by Drake in Justin Bieber’s performance of “Baby”.

– The two-hour awards special was watched in all or in part by 6.5 million Canadians in total, up 59% compared to last year (4.06 million).

– One year before the THE JUNO AWARDS heads to Toronto for the 40th anniversary show, last night’s broadcast was the #1 program of the night in total viewers (429,000) and the key adult demos in Canada’s largest market.

“These is nothing foggy at all about these ratings – Canadians are overwhelming clear when it comes to their pride in Canadian musical artists,” said Susanne Boyce, President, Creative, Content and Channels, CTV Inc. “THE 2010 JUNO AWARDS will ultimately be remembered for its memorable performances, cutting-edge production and welcoming hometown crowd.”

THE 2010 JUNO AWARDS is now available on demand at junos.CTV.ca, while MuchMusic presents an encore broadcast tonight at 10 p.m. ET. ETALK continues their exclusive coverage of the 2010 JUNO Awards – including interviews from the exclusive backstage ETALK Lounge – with the 30-minute wrap-up special ETALK AT THE JUNOS, airing tonight at 7 p.m. ET on CTV from St. John’s. A complete list of winners can be found here.

About the author