January 2010 Canwest Lifestyle Programming

DISCOVERY HEALTH CHANNEL

New Episodes or Seasons:

Intervention™, Season 3 (Network Premiere)
Nightly at 10pm ET/7pm PT beginning January 4

My Shocking Story, Season 5 (Network Premiere)
Saturdays at 3pm ET/12pm PT beginning January 9

The Baby Borrowers (Network Premiere)
Saturdays at 2pm ET/11am PT beginning January 9

Obsessed (Network Premiere)
Sundays at 12pm ET/9am PT & 1pm ET/10am PT beginning January 10

FOOD NETWORK

Brand New Series:

Top Chef Masters (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)
Mondays at 9pm ET/10pm PT beginning January 4 (Encore presentations Saturdays at 10pm ET/7pm PT & Sundays at 4pm ET/1pm PT)
Top Chef Masters will pit 24 world-renowned chefs against each other and see how well they fare in the tried and true format of Top Chef. The first six episodes will consist of four chefs competing against each other to name one winner.  The six winners of each episode will then meet up for the final four weeks, with one person eliminated each episode until the finale where one winner is crowned Top Chef. The winning chef will receive $100,000 for the charity of his or her choice.

Pitchin’ In (World Broadcast Premiere)
Mondays at 10pm ET/7pm PT beginning January 4 (Encore presentations Saturdays at 12pm ET/9am PT & 6pm ET/3pm PT)
In the new series Pitchin’ In, Lynn Crawford is doing the unthinkable: quitting her job as Executive Chef of the Four Seasons Manhattan and hitting the road for the ultimate chef adventure. Lynn travels to far-flung locations, doing whatever it takes to get at the best, freshest ingredients in the world, even if it means putting herself at risk by tromping through a mucky mosquito-infested bayou in Louisiana or signing up as first mate on a shrimp boat in Oregon. Throughout her journey, she’ll take on any challenge that comes her way, relying on local hunters, fishermen or farmers to show her how it’s done.

Ten Dollar Dinners with Melissa d’Arabian (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)
Thursdays at 3:30pm ET/12:30pm PT beginning January 7 (Encore presentations Sundays at 11am ET/8am PT)
On her daytime cooking series, season five winner of The Next Food Network Star and stay-at-home mom, Melissa d’Arabian shows viewers how to incorporate creative and tasty meals into their budgets by sharing her tried-and-true recipes. With countless tips to save time and money in the kitchen, she keeps her $10 promise in every episode. From approachable Parisian and Moroccan menus to sophisticated upgrades for everyday chicken and pork, Ten Dollar Dinners with Melissa d’Arabian demonstrates home cooking at its finest.

Extreme Cuisine with Jeff Corwin (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)
Thursdays at 9pm ET/10pm PT beginning January 7 (Encore presentations Sundays at 1pm ET/10am PT)
Renowned for his expertise in wildlife and conservation, Jeff Corwin sets his sights on exploring human culture through regional cuisine in his first Food Network endeavor. With an open mind (and mouth), this series follows the passionate foodie and anthropologist as he tears through countries like Thailand, Mexico, Greece, and Peru on radical culinary adventures. Learning from the natives, he samples the exotic foods and local customs that mold each community.

New Episodes or Seasons:

Glutton for Punishment, Season 4 (World Broadcast Premiere)
Mondays at 10:30pm ET/7:30pm PT beginning January 4

Giada at Home (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)
Tuesdays at 5:30pm ET/2:30pm PT beginning January 5

Dinner Impossible (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)
Tuesdays at 8pm ET/5pm PT beginning January 5

The F Word (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)
Tuesdays at 9pm ET/10pm PT beginning January 5

Food Network Challenge (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)
Wednesdays at 8pm ET/5pm PT beginning January 6

Chopped (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)
Wednesdays at 10pm ET/7pm PT beginning January 6

Ace of Cakes (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)
Thursdays at 10pm ET/7pm PT beginning January 7

Barefoot Contessa (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)
Fridays at 3:30pm ET/12:30pm PT beginning January 8

The Wild Chef, Season 2 (World Broadcast Premiere)
Fridays at 8pm ET/5pm PT beginning January 8

Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)
Fridays at 10pm ET/7pm PT beginning January 8

HGTV

Brand New Series:

Bang For Your Buck (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)
Tuesdays at 9pm ET/6pm PT beginning January 5 (Encore presentations Sundays at 2:30pm ET/11:30am PT & 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT)
Bang For Your Buck has the concrete answers on remodelling value and how to get the most out of any renovation budget. In each episode, three homeowners from the same city renovate the same room of the house with the same budget. After the renovation, experts determine the value of each home, dramatically revealing whose remodelling choices were good investment decisions.

House of Bryan (World Broadcast Premiere)
Thursdays at 9pm ET/6pm PT beginning January 7 (Encore presentations Sundays at 11am ET/8am PT & 10pm ET/7pm PT)
Disaster DIY host Bryan Baeumler is tearing down his family’s modest 1000 square foot bungalow and building a 4000 square foot dream home right before our eyes. Be part of the drama as his old house is demolished to make way for the new House of Bryan.

Programming Specials:

HGTV Specials
Sundays at 5pm ET/2pm PT beginning January 10
HGTV brings you brand new 60-minute HGTV specials as well as some viewer favourites from past marathons and stunts in this new weekend timeslot.

New Seasons:

For Rent, Season 3 (World Broadcast Premiere)
Mondays at 8pm ET/5pm PT beginning January 4

Marriage Under Construction, Season 3 (World Broadcast Premiere)
Mondays at 9pm ET/6pm PT beginning January 4

Million Dollar Listing, Season 3 (World Broadcast Premiere)
Tuesdays at 8pm ET/5pm PT beginning January 5

Dear Genevieve, Season 3 (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)
Tuesdays at 9:30pm ET/6:30pm PT beginning January 5

Real Estate Intervention, Season 2 (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)
Wednesdays at 8:30pm ET/5:30 PT beginning January 6

Real Renos, Season 7 (World Broadcast Premiere)
Thursdays at 9:30pm ET/6:30pm PT beginning January 7

House Hunters International, Season 15 (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)
Fridays at 8pm ET/5pm PT beginning January 8

World’s Greenest Homes, Season 2 (World Broadcast Premiere)
Fridays at 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT beginning January 8

Location, Location, Location, Season 11 (Canadian Broadcast Premiere)
Fridays at 9pm ET/6pm PT beginning January 8

SLICE™

Brand New Series:

Love Incorporated (World Broadcast Premiere)
Mondays at 10pm ET/7pm PT & 10:30pm ET/7:30pm PT beginning January 11
Love Incorporated follows the real-life relationship of Annabelle and Justin Parfitt, a passionate power-couple as they navigate the ups and downs of their relationship and run Fastlife.ca, their successful, international speed-dating business. Justin has set his sights on global expansion of the company, but Annabelle has babies on the brain and wants to settle down. Can they keep the tension of the boardroom out of the bedroom and vice versa? Love Incorporated documents the drama as Justin and Annabelle try their best to have it all. 

New Episodes or Seasons:

Party Mamas, Season 3 (World Broadcast Premiere)
Tuesdays at 9pm ET/6pm PT beginning January 5

At The End Of My Leash, Season 6 (World Broadcast Premiere)
Wednesdays at 9pm ET/6pm PT beginning January 6

The Last 10lbs Bootcamp, Season 4 (World Broadcast Premiere)
Thursdays at 9pm ET/6pm PT beginning January 7

Tabatha’s Salon Takeover, Season 2 (Canadian Premiere)
Saturdays at 5pm ET/2pm PT beginning January 9

The Real Housewives of Atlanta, Season 2 (Canadian Premiere)
Saturdays at 8pm ET/5pm PT beginning January 9

The Real Housewives of Orange County, Season 5 (Canadian Premiere)
Saturdays at 9pm ET/6pm PT beginning January 9

Marathons

The Real Housewives of Orange County, Season 4
Saturday, January 2 from 8am to 10pm ET/5am to 7pm PT
Put the champers on ice, grab your oversized sunglasses, sharpen your claws and catch the entire fourth season of The Real Housewives of Orange County leading into the “sneak peek” premiere episode of season five at 10pm ET/7pm PT.

The Real Housewives of Atlanta, Season 1

Sunday, January 3 from 1pm to 9pm ET/10am to 6pm PT
Join Kim, NeNe and the rest of the southern belles for the entire first season of The Real Housewives of Atlanta leading into the “sneak peek” premiere episode of season two at 9pm ET/6pm PT.

About the author