Citytv Announces Changes To Primetime Winter 2010 Line Up

Citytv today announced changes to its primetime programming line up. Effective March 1, 2010 the following programs will replace The Jay Leno Show weeknights on Citytv, Chuck (Mondays at 10pm ET/PT, 9pm CT, 8pm MT); Parenthood (Tuesdays at 10pm ET/PT, 9pm CT, 8pm MT); Ugly Betty (Wednesdays at 10pm ET/PT, 9pm CT, 8pm MT); two back-to-back episodes of How I Met Your Mother (Thursdays at 10pm ET/PT, 9pm CT, 8pm MT); and Murdoch Mysteries (Fridays at 10pm ET/PT, 9pm CT, 8pm MT).  For the two week period of February 15 – 26 Citytv will air Dark Blue weeknights at 10pm ET/PT (9pm CT, 8pm MT).

“We’re optimistic that the strength of our new primetime lineup will draw even more audiences than The Jay Leno Show”, commented Malcolm Dunlop, EVP Programming, Rogers Media Television.  “The addition of the new drama, Parenthood starring Lauren Graham coupled with proven fan favourites Chuck, Ugly Betty and Murdoch Mysteries will continue to entertain existing audiences and attract new viewers to Citytv.”

Citytv’s updated primetime schedule is as follows:

Mondays (starting March 1)
The Bachelor (s/ABC) 8pm ET/PT (7pm CT, 9pm MT)
Chuck at 10pm ET/PT (9pm CT, 8pm MT)
**Starting March 8 the Monday night line up will change to:
How I Met Your Mother (s/CBS) at 8pm ET/PT (7pm CT, 9pm MT)
How I Met Your Mother at 8:30pm ET/PT (7:30pm CT, 9:30pm MT)
Trauma (s/NBC) at 9pm ET/PT (8pm CT, 10pm MT)
Chuck at 10pm ET/PT (9pm CT, 8pm MT)

Tuesdays (starting March 2)
The Biggest Loser (s/NBC) at 8pm ET/PT (7pm CT, 9pm MT)
Parenthood (s/NBC) at 10pm ET/PT (9pm CT, 8pm MT)

Wednesdays (starting March 3)
Mercy (s/NBC) at 8pm ET/PT (7pm CT, 9pm MT)
Modern Family (s/ABC) at 9pm ET/PT (8pm CT, 10pm MT)
Cougar Town (s/ABC) at 9:30pm ET/PT (8:30pm CT, 10:30pm MT)
Ugly Betty (s/ABC) at 10pm ET/PT (9pm CT, 8pm MT)

Thursdays (starting March 4)
Community (s/NBC) at 8pm ET/PT (7pm CT, 9pm MT)
Parks and Recreation (s/NBC) at 8:30pm ET/PT (7:30pm CT, 9:30pm MT)
Accidentally on Purpose at 9pm ET/PT (8pm CT, 10pm MT)
30 Rock (s/NBC) at 9:30pm ET/PT (8:30pm CT, 10:30pm MT)
How I Met Your Mother at 10pm ET/PT (9pm CT, 8pm MT)
How I Met Your Mother at 10:30pm ET/PT (9:30pm CT, 8:30pm MT)

Fridays (starting March 4)

Who Do You Think You Are? at 8pm ET/PT (7pm CT, 9pm MT)
Supernanny at 9pm ET/PT (8pm CT, 10pm MT)
Murdoch Mysteries (season 3 premiere) at 10pm ET/PT (9pm CT, 8pm MT)

NEW SERIES SYNOPSES:
Parenthood:

From the executive producers of the box-office hit Parenthood, Ron Howard and Brian Grazer (A Beautiful Mind), and writer/executive producer Jason Katims (Friday Night Lights), comes the story of the colorful and imperfect Braverman family – four grown siblings sharing the headaches, heartaches, and joy of being parents. When Sarah Braverman (Lauren Graham, Gilmore Girls), a financially strapped single mother, returns to her family home she is greeted by her opinionated father, Zeek (Craig T Nelson, Coach, Family Stone), and strong mother, Camille (Bonnie Bedelia, Heart Like a Wheel), who are privately dealing with their own marital issues. As Sarah is reunited with her siblings – sister, Julia (Erika Christensen, Six Degrees), and brothers Crosby (Dax Shepard, Baby Mama) and Adam (Peter Krause, Six Feet Under) – all struggling with issues of their own, it’s clear that the Braverman reunion is just what they need to face the everyday challenges of modern family life.

Who Do You Think You Are?:
Who Do You Think You Are? is an exciting genealogy series where Hollywood A-Listers find out just who they think they are.  Acting as detectives in search of their own family histories and secrets from the past, follow celebrities like Sarah Jessica Parker and Susan Sarandon on their journeys of self discovery. Lisa Kudrow (Friends) is executive producer on the series.

Murdoch Mysteries (Season 3):
Season three will bring back some of Murdoch Mysteries more intriguing characters such as; the mysterious warmonger Terrence Meyers (Peter Keleghan), Julia Ogden’s sister Ruby (Sara Gadon) and Murdoch will once again call upon Nikola Tesla (Dimitry Chepovetsky) to help defeat his new nemesis.    Some of the cases Murdoch will try to solve in season three include his investigation into the world of Eugenics; the death a decorated police officer that blows open the dark underbelly of Station Number Two; and  the elaborate heist of a valuable Rembrandt painting. Based on Maureen Jennings’s popular Detective Murdoch Mystery novels, Murdoch Mysteries is set in 1895 Toronto, and explores the intriguing world of William Murdoch (Yannick Bisson), a handsome young detective who uses radical forensic techniques to solve some of the city’s most gruesome murders. Murdoch’s small circle of confidantes includes pathologist Julia Ogden (Hélène Joy), a staunch ally who shares the detective’s fascination with forensic science, and Constable George Crabtree (Jonny Harris), Murdoch’s eager but inexperienced right-hand man. Though his unconventional approach elicits skepticism from his boss, Inspector Brackenreid (Thomas Craig), Murdoch is often the only one who can crack the case. 

Dark Blue:

This character-based police drama will follow a squad of young undercover LAPD officers as they walk the thin line between doing their job and being seduced into the easy money and corruption of the L.A. crime world. The mission of this small and elite group of officers is clear: Infiltrate through deception, expose the crime and don’t get killed. The temptations will be many, but our heroes will never lose their focus and their desire “to protect and to serve.” Dylan McDermott (Big Shots) stars as Carter Shaw, the head of this crack undercover team of police officers who are so covert, many of their own colleagues don’t even know they are involved. Shaw is a deeply wounded character, having lost his wife and much of his former life as he struggles to bring down bad guys through complex undercover assignments. His team includes a recently married cop (Omari Hardwick, Saved) who struggles with personal relationships he has developed while undercover; a shoot-from-the-hip offcer (Logan Marshall-Green, The O.C.) whose activities make fellow team members wonder if he has gone over to the bad side; and a green patrol cop (Nicki Aycox, Supernatural) brought in because of her excellent skill in lying and shady past.

About the author