Animal Planet Holiday Marathons 2009

If you believe in dressing your pet in a Santa suit or stuffing their stockings full of treats, then this year’s Animal Planet holiday marathons are for you! Enjoy an emotional eight-hour Cinderella fairytale when the UNDERDOG TO WONDERDOG Marathon begins at 12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT on Christmas Day; then skip the stores and open up a box of laughter when the wild and wacky six-hour Boxing Day marathon of ANIMAL PLANET’S MOST OUTRAGEOUS begins at 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT. And finally, when New Years day rolls around, invite BEVERLY HILLS GROOMER, Artist Knox, into your living room for a six-hour Hollywood grooming marathon at 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT. From magical transformations and grooming creations to the most unusual pets on Earth, Animal Planet brings love, laughter and inspiration to help cheer you through the holidays this year!

ANIMAL PLANET’S HOLIDAY MARATHON SCHEDULE:

UNDERDOG TO WONDERDOG MARATHON (8 x 60)
Friday, December 25 at 12 – 8 p.m. ET (9 a.m. – 5 p.m. PT)
There’s nothing more heartbreaking than looking into the sad, helpless eyes of an abandoned stray dog that hasn’t been adopted from a shelter. Animal Planet’s UNDERDOG TO WONDERDOG takes that same stray shelter pup and turns its four-legged life completely around. Our very own Doggie Wonder Team comes to the rescue when they snatch that dog from its formerly miserable existence and transplant it into its very own Cinderella fairytale!

ANIMAL PLANET’S MOST OUTRAGEOUS MARATHON (6 x 60)
Saturday, December 26 at 2 – 8 p.m. ET (11 a.m. – 5 p.m. PT)
From America’s most extravagant doghouse to an eccentric millionaire’s private zoo, MOST OUTRAGEOUS delves into everything weird, wacky and wonderful about people’s obsession with animals. Find out what goes on behind the scenes of the nation’s biggest animal parks, visit some of the world’s wildest pet palaces and doggy digs, plus meet the animals and their offbeat owners who have become overnight YouTube sensations in this wildly over-the-top series.

BEVERLY HILLS GROOMER MARATHON (12 x 30)
Friday, January 1 at 2 – 8 p.m. ET (11 a.m. – 5 p.m. PT)
Artist Knox, GROOMER HAS IT’s 2008 “Groomer of the Year” uses his $50,000 winnings and mobile grooming van to follow his dream of becoming the groomer to the stars. While he hustles to build his celebrity clientele – and their pampered pets – he has to adjust to the fact that he has also become a bit of celebrity himself. Throughout his journey Knox vows to remain true to his mission statement of “two for me, one for free” – meaning that for every two paying clients, he will groom one less fortunate animal for free. It’s more than just a noble gesture, it’s his way of making rough neighborhoods (like the one he grew up in) a better place to live.

About the author