Sarah McLachlan To Perform At 2009 JUNO Awards

As revealed last night on ETALK, CTV and The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) confirmed today that the 2009 Allan Waters Humanitarian Award recipient Sarah McLachlan is the first artist slated to perform live on CTV’s broadcast of The 2009 JUNO Awards on Sunday, March 29. Hosted by Russell Peters, The 2009 JUNO Awards will air on CTV from Vancouver’s General Motors Place. Music fans should note, as announced previously, Early-Bird JUNO Awards ticket packages go on sale this Saturday, January 31 at 10 a.m. (PT).

The Canadian songstress, who calls Vancouver home, is an eight-time JUNO Award winner, multiple Grammy Award winner, and the recipient of the 2009 Allan Waters Humanitarian Award, recognizing her outstanding work as a Canadian artist whose humanitarian contributions have positively enhanced the social fabric of Canada.(See “About Sarah McLachlan” below). Additional performers for CTV’s broadcast will be announced next Tuesday, February 3, immediately following the reveal of the nominees for The 2009 JUNO Awards at a media conference at The Fairmont Royal York Hotel in Toronto, ON.

“The talented Sarah McLachlan is one of Canada’s most successful artists,” said Susanne Boyce, President, Creative, Content and Channels, CTV Inc. “Her dedication to fostering the Canadian music community through organizations such as the Sarah McLachlan Foundation gives young Canadians a chance to follow in her footsteps. We are honoured to both celebrate her accomplishments and have her perform on the JUNO stage.”

The JUNO Awards organizers have confirmed that only 500 Early Bird Ticket Packages will be available for purchase beginning this Saturday, January 31 at 10 a.m. (PT), providing music fans with a chance to secure their place at select JUNO Weekend Events. Packages can be purchased online at, or by phone at 604-280-4444.


Since signing with Nettwerk Records in 1988, Sarah McLachlan has sold more than 30 million records worldwide. Her debut album, Touch, was followed by a string of monumental albums including Solace (1991, gold), Fumbling Towards Ecstasy (1994, 3X platinum), Surfacing (1997, diamond), Mirrorball (1999, 4X platinum) and Afterglow (2003, 5X platinum). McLachlan is a multiple JUNO Award winner and received Grammy Awards for her stellar hits, “Building a Mystery,” “Last Dance” and “I Will Remember You.” Closer: The Best of Sarah McLachlan (2008) marks her first-ever career anthology featuring new and classic tracks from her award-winning catalogue. Visit her Official Website for more information:

Broadcast in high definition and 5.1 surround sound and hosted by Russell Peters, The 2009 JUNO Awards, Canada’s Music Awards, will air on CTV on Sunday, March 29th from General Motors Place in Vancouver. It will be the eighth year in a row that The JUNO Awards will air on CTV, the Official Broadcast partner of The JUNO Awards. Since CTV joined forces with CARAS in 2002, The JUNO Awards have travelled across Canada, bringing a live, electrified stadium show to millions of Canadians. CTV has broadcast The JUNO Awards from St. John’s (2002), Ottawa (2003), Edmonton (2004), Winnipeg (2005), Halifax (2006), Saskatoon (2007) and Calgary (2008). The 2010 JUNO Awards will be broadcast once again from St. John’s, NL.

The 2009 JUNO Awards is produced by Insight Productions in association with CTV and The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS). Executive producers are John Brunton and Barbara Bowlby for Insight Productions and Melanie Berry and Stephen Stohn for CARAS. Louise Wood is Producer and Donna Luke is Supervising Producer. Ed Robinson is Executive Vice-President, Programming, CTV Inc. Susanne Boyce is President, Creative, Content and Channels, CTV Inc.

Broadcast sponsors for The 2009 JUNO Awards are Garnier, Pepsi, Pontiac and Rogers.

Sponsors of The 2009 JUNO Awards include FACTOR, Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters and the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage’s “Canada Music Fund,” The Province of British Columbia, The City of Vancouver, Music BC and Radio Starmaker Fund.

About the author