CTV Congratulates CFTPA Indie Award Nominees

CTV Congratulates CFTPA Indie Award Nominees

— Canadian Film and Television Production Association
recognizes Canadian independent producers —
— CTV’s Corner Gas, In God’s Country and Race to Mars among those nominated —

Toronto, ON (January 22, 2008) – CTV congratulated its production partners today who are recipients of nominations for the inaugural Canadian Film and Television Production Association (CFTPA) Indie Awards. The Indie Awards recognize and honour the achievements of Canadian independent producers. Original productions on CTV and its family of channels garnered five nominations.

CTV original series and movies nominated for CFTPA Awards include Canada’s most-watched comedy series, Corner Gas, as well as CTV’s critically-acclaimed movies Luna: Spirit of the Whale and In God’s Country, the most-watched TV movie broadcast in 2006-2007. Discovery Channel’s international hit mini-series Race to Mars and the website for The Comedy Network series’ Gemini Award-winning Odd Job Jack were also nominated. The winners will be announced at a ceremony in Ottawa on February 20.

“The Indie Awards will be a great opportunity to recognize excellence in the Canadian production community,” said Susanne Boyce, President, Creative, Content and Channels, CTV Inc. “Congratulations to all of the nominees.”

The following productions associated with CTV were nominated for CFTPA Awards:

Best Comedy Programme or Series

Corner Gas: Virginia Thompson, Brent Butt and David Storey are the producers.

Best Prime Time Drama Series

Race to Mars: Arnie Gelbart, Phyllis Platt and Pia Maria Marquand are the producers.

Best TV Movie

Luna: Spirit of the Whale: Trish Dolman is the producer.
In God’s Country: Christina Jennings, Scott Garvie, Kelly Rowan and Graham Ludlow are the producers.

Best Convergent New Media

www.oddjobjack.com: Adrian Carter, Denny Silverthorne and Jeremy Diamond are the producers.

About the author