Billy Talent, k-os and Nelly Furtado Lead the 2007 JUNO Awards with Five Nominations Each

Toronto, ON (February 6, 2007) – The drum roll has begun! At the JUNO Awards press conference held today in Toronto, the Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) announced the nominations for the 2007 JUNO Awards, Canada’s Music Awards, recognizing the year’s best in the Canadian recording industry. The celebration will reach its pinnacle during Juno Weekend when winners will be announced. The 2007 JUNO Awards will air on CTV, Sunday, April 1, from the Credit Union Centre in Saskatoon, SK.

“This is music at its best!” says Melanie Berry, CARAS President. “The diversity and calibre of home-grown talent represented across all 39 categories truly exemplifies the unparalleled artistry of Canada’s musicians and the distinction of the JUNO Awards.”

Leading the 2007 JUNO Award nominations are rock group Billy Talent, along with recording artists k-os and Nelly Furtado, all earning five nods each. Rock sensation Billy Talent shook Canadian audiences with the release of their debut self-titled album winning three JUNO Awards to-date. Continuing their red-hot success with their sophomore double-platinum album, Billy Talent II, the band is nominated for 2007 JUNO Awards in the categories of Single of the Year for “Devil In A Midnight Mass,” Album of the Year (sponsored by CRIA), Group of the Year, Rock Album of the Year as well as Video of the Year (sponsored by VideoFACT).

k-os, a nine-time JUNO Award nominee, swept all three of his nominations at the 2005 JUNO Awards winning Single of the Year, Rap Recording of the Year and Video of the Year. This year, Canada’s platinum-selling hip hop star is nominated in five categories for his critically acclaimed album Atlantis: Hymns For Disco that includes the hit single, “Sunday Morning.” He receives nods for Single of the Year, Songwriter of the Year, Pop Album of the Year, Jack Richardson Producer of the Year and Video of the Year (sponsored by VideoFACT).

Also receiving five JUNO Award nominations is Canadian and international superstar and Host of this year’s JUNO Awards, Nelly Furtado. Winner of five JUNO Awards to-date, she is nominated for the 2007 Juno™ Fan Choice Award (presented by Doritos), vying with fellow Canadian recording stars, Gregory Charles, Michael Bublé, Nickelback and Sarah McLachlan. Nelly is also nominated for Single of the Year for “Promiscuous” featuring Timbaland, as well as Album of the Year (sponsored by CRIA), Artist of the Year and Pop Album of the Year for her hit album Loose.

Breakout artists nominated for New Artist of the Year (sponsored by FACTOR and Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters) include Canadian Idol’s Eva Avila and Melissa O’Neil, Neverending White Lights, Patrick Watson and Tomi Swick. This year’s nominees for New Group of the Year (sponsored by FACTOR and Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters) include Evans Blue, Idle Sons, Jets Overhead, Mobile and Stabilo.

Québec recording luminary Gregory Charles, mentioned earlier for a Juno™ Fan Choice (presented by Doritos) nomination, is also up for Album of the Year (sponsored by CRIA) and Artist of the Year.

Other triple-nominees include Hedley (Album of the Year [sponsored by CRIA], Group of the Year and Music DVD of the Year); Malajube (Alternative Album of the Year, Francophone Album of the Year and CD/DVD Artwork Design of the Year [sponsored by Ever-Reddy Packaging]); and Sarah Harmer (Songwriter of the Year, Adult Alternative Album of the Year and Music DVD of the Year).

Alexisonfire is nominated for Group of the Year and CD/DVD Artwork Design of the Year (sponsored by Ever-Reddy Packaging) for their album, Crisis Ltd. Edition. Rockers Three Days Grace will also contend for Album of the Year (sponsored by CRIA) and Group of the Year.

Multiple JUNO Award winners, Diana Krall and Sam Roberts received two nominations each this year: Diana Krall for Artist of the Year and Vocal Jazz Album of the Year; Sam Roberts for Rock Album of the Year and Video of the Year (sponsored by VideoFACT) for the single “Bridge To Nowhere.”

Other artists receiving two nominations include Chantal Kreviazuk, David Braid, Garnet Armstrong, Harry Somers, Jim Cuddy, Loreena McKennitt, Mobile, Nickelback, Pierre Lapointe, Ron Sexsmith, Sarah McLachlan, Tomi Swick and Canadian Music Hall of Fame members, The Tragically Hip.

Heavy-hitters for this year’s JUNO Award International Album of the Year nominations include Dixie Chicks, Il Divo, Justin Timberlake, Madonna and Red Hot Chili Peppers.

A complete list of 2007 JUNO Award nominees, including biographies can be found online at

Broadcast in High-Definition and 5.1 Surround Sound, The 2007 JUNO Awards will be broadcast for the sixth year in a row on CTV, the official broadcast partner of the JUNO Awards. Since CTV joined forces with CARAS in 2001, the JUNO Awards has traveled across Canada, bringing a live, electrified stadium show to million of Canadians. Since going live from St. John’s in 2002, CTV has broadcast The JUNO Awards from Ottawa (2003), Edmonton (2004), Winnipeg (2005) and Halifax (2006).

In April 2006, 1.7 million Canadians watched Pamela Anderson host The 2006 JUNO Awards, 26 per cent more viewers than watched The Grammy Awards, making it the most-watched music awards program of the year. Previous hosts of The JUNO Awards include Brent Butt (2005), Alanis Morissette (2004), Shania Twain (2003) and Barenaked Ladies (2002).

About the author